European Glossary of Abbreviations

Click here for a list of EU programmes.
ACP - 66 African, Carribean and Pacific countries associated with the Community by the Lomé Convention
ACPEC - Association of the Coal Producers of the EC
AECA - American-EC Association
AEIH - European Association of Clothing Industries
AEPPC - Association of European Insolvency Administrators
AOCTS - Associated Overseas Countries and Territories (see OCTS)
ASEAN - 5 South East Asian countries associated with the Community
BC-NET - Business Cooperation Network
BCB - British Consultants Bureau
BEDA - Bureau of European Designers Associations
BEI - see EIB
BEUC - Bureau of European Consumer Organisations
BFEC - Banking Federation of the EC
BRITE - Basic Research in Industrial Technologies
CAP - Common Agricultural Policy
CCBE - Council of the Bars and Law Societies of the EC
CCC - Consumers' Consultative Committee of the EC CCT - Common Customs Tariff
CEA - Confederation of European Agriculture
CEBI - European Committee of Consulting Firms
CECC - Cenelec Electronic Components Committee
CECG - Consumers in the EC Group
CEE - Communauté Economique Européenne
CEEP - European Centre of Public Enterprises
CEN/CENELEC - the Joint European Standards Institution
CEFIC - European Council of Chemical Manufacturers' Federation
CEPS - Centre for European Policy Studies
CEPT - European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations
CERD - European Research and Development Committee (DG XII)
CERN - European Laboratory for Particle Physics
CIC - Confederation Internationale des Cadres
CID - Centre for the Development of Industry
CLECAT - European Liaison Committee of Common Market Forwarders
COE - College of Europe
COFACE - Committee of European Family Organisations
COGEGA - General Committee for Agricultural Co-operation in the EEC
COMETT - Community Action Programme in Education and Training for Technology
COMITEXTIL - Co-ordination Committee for the Textile Industries in the EEC
COPA - Committee for Agricultural Organisations in the EC
COREPER - Committee of Permanent Representatives
COST - European Cooperation in Science and Technology (DGXII)
CPCCI - Association of European Chambers of Commerce and Industries
CRC - Central Rhine Commission
CREST - Scientific and Technical Research Committee (DGXII)
CRONOS - Community's statistical data bank
CSCE - (East-West) Conference on Security and Co-operation in Europe
CTA - Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation
EAAA - European Association of Advertising Agencies
EAC - European Association for Co-operation (DG VIII)
EAEC - European Atomic Energy Community=EURATOM=CEEA
EAGGF - European Agricultural Guidance and Guarantee Fund=FEOGA (DG VI)
EAPS - European Association for Population Studies
EBU-UER - European Broadcasting Union
ECAC - European Civil Aviation Conference
ECBH - Eurogroup for the Conservation of Birds and Habitats
ECCSEC - Ecumenical Commission for Church and Society in the EC
ECF - European Cooperation Fund
ECF - European Cultural Foundation
ECMT - European Conference of Ministers of Transport
ECOSOC - Economic and Social Committee of the EC
ECOSOC - Economic and Social Council of the UN
ECSC - European Coal and Steel Community=CECA
ECU - Eurydice Central Unit
ECU - European Currency Unit
ECWS - European Centre for Work and Society
EDF - European Development Fund
EEB - European Environmental Bureau
EEC - European Economic Community
EFTA - European Free Trade Association
EIB - European Investment Bank=BEI
EIM - European Institute for the Media
ELEC - European League to Economic Cooperation
EIESP - European Institute of Educational and Social Policy
EM - European Movement Association International
EMBO - European Molecular Biology Association
EMS - European Monetary System
EN - Europe Nostra
EP - European Parliament
EPO - European Patent Office
ERASMUS - European Community Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students
ERDF - European Regional Development Fund (DG XVI)
ERT - European Round Table of Industrialists
ESA - European Space Agency
ESF - European Social Fund (DG V)
ESO - European Southern Observatory
ESPRIT - European Strategis Programme for Research in IT
ETUC - European Trade Union Confederation
EUROPMI - European Committee for Small and Medium Sized Independent Enterprises
EUROSTAT - Community's Statistical Office
EUW - European Union of Women
FAEP - Federation of Associations of Periodical Publishers in the EC
FAST - European Forecasting and Assessment in Science and Technology
FCA - Federation of Commodity Associations
FEACO - Federation of European Management Consultancy Organisations
FEDESA - European Federation of Animal Health
FID - International Federation for Information and Documentation
GATT - General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade
GELC - Book Publishers Group of EC
GSP - General System of Preferences
ICOM - International Council of Museums
IEEP - Institute for European Environmental Policy
IIC - International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works
IMP - Integrated Mediterranean Programme
IPT - Industry and Parliament Trust
ITTTF - Information Technology and Telecommunications Task Force
JET - Joint European Torus
JRC - Joint Research Centre
KG - Kangaroo Group
LIBER - Ligue des Bibliotèques Européenes de Recherche
MCA - Management Consultancies Association
MEP - Member of the European Parliament
NAA - North Atlantic Assembly
NC - Nordic Council
NIC - New Community Instrument for Borrowing and Lending
OCTS - Overseas Countries and Territories associated with the EC
OCTI - Central Office for International Railway Transport
OECD - Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
SEM - Southern and Eastern Mediterranean Countries
SEPLIS - European Secretariat for the Liberal Professions
SME - Small and Medium Enterprises
STC - Scientific and Technical Committee (DG XII)
STABEX - Guaranteed stabilisation of export earnings for ACP
TAC - Total allowable catch (Fisheries)
TED - Tenders Electronic Daily
TF - Task Force, Small and Medium-sized Enterprises
UA - Unit for account
UEAPME - European Union of Craft and SMEs
UER-EBU - Union Européeane de Radiodiffusion
UNCTAD - United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
UNICE - Union of Industrial and Employers' Confederations of Europe
WEU - Western European Union

Reference - 31 Jan 1995